Tracking down a Belew

General musical discussions that don't fall under other categories.
mmmguitar
Forum Veteran

Tracking down a Belew

Post by mmmguitar »

Hi, all. I’ve been kicking tires on Reverb and eBay Fly listings for a few months, now. What I’ve come to realize is that nothing will scratch the itch like finding my white whale: An Adrian Belew sig. I’ve lusted for one ever since first seeing Adrian with a prototype, but was never able to justify dumping the money for four or five great guitars into the cost of one. The closest I’ve come was owning a tangerine Mojo with Sustainiac and GK3 (which I regret selling while thinning my collection several years ago). Owning more recent Variaxes and other 13 pin-Flys has, unfortunately, never filled the void.

As I recall, only a handful were ever produced. And I don’t know that I've EVER seen a DF842AB outside the Parker site. Sadly, all leads I’ve turned up are the same years-old Reverb listings.

Please, use this thread to discuss memories and insights to do with the Belew model and its history (Still miss Axel Rudich and all his helpfulness on the old forum).

For example: I recall Dennis Anesi confirming that the AB’s Variax components could actually still interface with the Line6 dongle and Monkey/Workbench software, so long as you plugged a female Ethernet jack Into the Variax board donated by Line 6 (a deal that I fear would never have been allowed following their acquisition by Yamaha).
Summary of the Parker Guitars speculator market from 2020 onward: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greater_fool_theory
vjmanzo
Site Admin

Re: Tracking down a Belew

Post by vjmanzo »