I need help changing a tremolo spring on a parker fly mojo

Discussions of every Fly in every variation including Deluxe, Classic, Mojo, Artist, Supreme, Stealth, Concert/Bronze, and custom Flys
igor

I need help changing a tremolo spring on a parker fly mojo

Post by igor »

Hello -

I have a refined parker fly mojo guitar (2006). I am new to these, so this is going to be a real newbie question.

When I got the guitar it had an 11 gauge spring installed, I would like to go up to the 12 (I purchased a 12 spring). I removed the strings, but now how do I remove the old spring? It is wedged in there very firmly and I don't see a way of loosening it from there. I read the manual several times, but it doesn't say anything specific about this, so maybe it is just supposed to come out, but not in my case, or at least I don't know the procedure. I thought I would ask before messing something up.

Can someone help me?

Thank you in advance,
Igor
vjmanzo
Site Admin

Re: I need help changing a tremolo spring on a parker fly mojo

Post by vjmanzo »

Hi Igor,

Welcome to the forum. I’ve had this issue before: you’re going to want to back up the threaded tension rod all the way so that it recedes into the body of the guitar, then bend the whammy bar all the way forward so that the spring compresses. That should release it unless some part of the spring is actually stuck in the t-bar; if that’s the case, try to lightly tap the side of the spring with the fat end of a screwdriver (or something comparable) so that the spring moves slightly. It will eventually fall out.

Try not to get frustrated and, depending on what year Fly you have, don’t let the pickguard fall and rip the battery out of your Fishman!

Here’s a guide for further info on setting up your bridge.
igor

Post by igor »

Thank you so much for helping!

How do I "backup the threaded tension rod all the way so it recedes into the body of the guitar"?

Thank you again!